top of page

2024 Harper's Choice Village Election Results

TO: HCCA Board of Directors


FROM:          Linda Kangrga, Chair, Election Monitor Committee


DATE:            May 7, 2024


SUBJECT:     Village Elections


There were two (2) candidates for two (2) Harper’s Choice Community Association (HCCA) Board of Director seats and two (2) candidates for one (1) Columbia Council Representative seat. Board of Director nomination petitions were received from Rebecca Beall and Rosalind Danner. Per the HCCA bylaws, if the number of nominations is less than or equal to the number of vacant director positions, the qualified nominees shall be deemed to be elected by the members and the Board of Directors will appoint the nominees to the director positions.


A Village-wide election was held on April 20, 2024. The total number of ballots cast for the Columbia Council Representative did not reach quorum. As such, this was not a valid election. By a majority vote and as authorized by Section 11B-111(6) of the Maryland Homeowners Association Act, the members present, either in person or represented by proxy, may call an additional meeting which shall occur not less than fifteen days after the Annual Meeting by giving ten (10) days’ notice of the time, place, and purpose of the Continued Annual Meeting. At the Continued Annual Meeting, the members present either in person or by proxy, shall constitute a quorum and may approve the election of Board Members and Columbia Council Representative and may approve or authorize any action which could have been taken had a sufficient number of members been present in person or by proxy at the Annual Meeting. The Continued Annual Meeting was held on May 7, 2024. The results of the Columbia Council Representative election are:


                                                            164      Ashley Vaughan

                                                            129      Alan Klein


Total Number of Ballots Received: 294 (368 with CA’s votes cast for quorum purposes only)


The terms of office for the newly elected members of the Board of Directors and Columbia Council Representative are May 1, 2024, through April 30, 2026.


Respectfully submitted,



Linda Kangrga, Chair, Election Monitor Committee

45 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Annual Longfellow 4th of July Parade

TO:                 Interested Parties FROM:           Stephen J. Ingley, Harper's Choice Village Manager DATE:            July 9, 2024 SUBJECT:     Longfellow 4th of July Parade The Annual Longfellow


bottom of page